Where This Guide Comes From

Everything in this guide — the prices, the test method and every watt-hour in the comparison table below — comes from one source video: Will Prowse's side-by-side capacity test of a budget LiFePO4 battery, a Battle Born LiFePO4 battery and a sealed lead-acid AGM, all in the 12V 100Ah class. If you'd rather watch the test than read about it, the video is embedded right here:

DIY Solar Power with Will Prowse — "12v 100ah Battery Comparison! Budget LiFePO4 VS Battle Born VS Lead Acid"
Watch on YouTube →
740,000+ views. Will Prowse (1.15M subscribers) ran all three batteries through the same 954W continuous discharge, then logged the real capacity each one delivered.

The reason this comparison is worth reading: most battery advice is marketing sheets, but this test is numbers on a bench. Three batteries, same 12V 100Ah rating, same load, measured until they quit. That's the kind of data you can actually size a system from — and it's exactly the way we spec OEM battery packs at our factory: voltage, capacity and discharge profile matched to the real duty cycle, not to the sticker.

Why a 12V 100Ah Comparison Matters

12V 100Ah is the single most common battery size in off-grid gear. It's what most RVs, camper vans, trolling-motor boats, small solar sheds and starter golf-cart setups use. And it's the size where the buying decision gets confusing, because you can pay anywhere from about $150 to $950 for what looks like the same thing on paper: 12 volts, 100 amp-hours, roughly 1,200 watt-hours.

So the practical question is not "which chemistry is better" — it's how much of that rated capacity you actually get at the loads you actually run, and what each battery costs over its real lifetime. The video answers the first half with a bench test, and the second half with prices that make the trade-off painfully clear.

Meet the Three Batteries

The test lined up three very different ways to buy 12V 100Ah:

All three were charged to a full float state and then discharged through the same inverter and watt-hour counter, with the load set by a heat gun on the same dial position — 954W continuous draw, which is a heavy load for a 100Ah battery and deliberately close to what a real RV inverter might pull.

The Spec-Sheet Difference That Keeps Beginners Safe

Before the capacity numbers, the video walks through the data-sheet differences — and one of them is genuinely important. The Battle Born has low-temperature charge disconnect built in: if you try to charge it in freezing conditions, the BMS simply refuses. Charging any LiFePO4 battery below about 0°C (32°F) can permanently plate lithium metal inside the cells and destroy the pack. The budget LiFePO4 in the test has no such protection — charge it in freezing weather and you risk writing off the whole bank.

There's a workaround for budget packs, and the video spells it out: add an external low-temperature cutoff (for example a Victron Smart Battery Sense feeding a charge controller) and you get the same protection for a few dollars. That's the classic DIY answer for a budget buyer.

The second spec difference: series connection. The Battle Born is rated for series wiring — two in series for 24V, four for 48V. The budget battery's datasheet doesn't claim series support, which matters if you're planning a 24V or 48V bank rather than a single 12V unit. The AGM, of course, strings in series like lead-acid always has.

What the Price Difference Actually Buys

The price gap looks huge on paper — $950 versus $700 versus $150 — but the video is blunt about what you're paying for: the warranty and the BMS design, not the cells. LiFePO4 cells themselves last a very long time; the thing that usually fails first in a budget pack is the BMS or the internal wiring. Thin wires from the terminals down to the BMS can overheat or even melt under a big load, and that's exactly the failure mode a good warranty covers.

With Battle Born, you're buying a company that will swap the battery if it misbehaves and will actually reply to your email. With a budget pack, you're buying a price — and hoping the seller is still around when you need them. The video also flags the physical build: the premium case uses thick nylon with oversized bolt holes that resist over-torquing, while the budget case feels thin and plasticky with terminals that look "cheesy" — functional, but cheap.

One honest line from the video that's easy to forget: there are more expensive options than Battle Born. Some competitors with CAN communication and new lineups run around $1,200, which makes the $950 Battle Born look like the reasonable middle ground, not the splurge.

The Test: Same Load, Same Method

The test protocol matters, because it's what makes the three numbers comparable:

  1. Charge each battery to full float voltage with a Victron charger, so every battery starts from the same state.
  2. Discharge through the same inverter at 954W continuous, with the load set by a heat gun on the same dial.
  3. Track watt-hours with a hall-effect sensor and a battery capacity monitor.
  4. When voltage starts collapsing, drop the load — the same way a real user would — and squeeze out whatever capacity remains.

That last step matters: it measures not just the rated number but the usable capacity under a real load, which is what your fridge, heater or inverter actually cares about.

Battle Born Results: Strong, With Heat Up Top

The Battle Born ran the 954W load for roughly an hour before the voltage started dropping hard — the monitor went from the low-10V range down to a shutdown at about 3V at the terminals. It did not deliver its full rated 1,200Wh, but the video is quick to point out that this was an extreme load, pushing the battery near its limits; under realistic RV loads the number would land closer to spec.

Worth noting: after an hour of this abuse, the top of the battery was hot to the touch — that's where the BMS sits, deliberately elevated away from the cells. The sides stayed cool. That design choice (BMS thermally separated from the cells) is one of the things the video credits for the premium price.

Budget LiFePO4 Results: The Surprise

Here's the number that genuinely surprised the reviewer: the $700 battery delivered practically the same watt-hour capacity as the $950 unit — actually slightly more. The test ran the same 954W load, dropped to a lower draw at 1,100Wh exactly as it had with the Battle Born, and the capacity monitor only shut off about a minute after the load was reduced. The reviewer's words: "I was expecting this to fail a lot sooner. That's incredible."

There were two real caveats. The terminal screws got genuinely hot — 109°F measured on the terminals — which points to internal wiring that may be thinner than Battle Born's, and is the main reason he'd hesitate to buy four of them for a large bank. And because the budget case seals the cells and BMS together in a way you can't open, nobody can verify what's inside without cutting it apart. The cells will last; the question is everything around them.

The video's verdict on the budget pack: if you add your own low-temperature cutoff and don't push huge loads through it, it's a genuinely great deal — especially with the seller's support being responsive when you email them.

Lead Acid Results: The Peukert Effect Is Real

This is the segment that explains, with numbers, why the "cheap" battery is the most expensive one you can buy for heavy loads. The moment the 954W load hit the 100Ah AGM, the voltage sagged to 11.9V — before the test had even really begun. That's the Peukert effect: at high discharge rates, lead-acid loses a big chunk of its rated capacity to internal resistance and heat.

The math from the video:

In plain terms: to get the same usable energy a single 100Ah LiFePO4 delivers under load, you'd need to buy almost two of these AGMs. Add in the charge-cycle life difference — LiFePO4 outlives lead-acid by a wide margin, roughly 5–10 times the cycles — and the voltage sag that starves your inverter, and the "cheap" option stops looking cheap.

To be fair to lead-acid, the video makes one honest concession: the Peukert penalty is much less visible in a large bank at low C-rates, which is how many solar systems actually run. If you have a big lead-acid bank that's rarely pushed hard, you can get by fine — lots of people do. The penalty shows up when you actually draw heavy current from a small battery, which is exactly the 12V 100Ah class this test covers.

12V 100Ah Battery Comparison Table

ParameterBudget LiFePO4Battle Born LiFePO4Lead-Acid AGM
Typical price~$700~$950~$100–150
Rated capacity12V 100Ah / 1,200Wh12V 100Ah / 1,200Wh12V 100Ah / 1,200Wh
Measured at 954W load~1,100Wh+, matched premiumHigh, cut off early at extreme load782Wh (67Ah) — Peukert loss
Low-temp charge protectionNo (add external controller)Yes, built inN/A (chemistry differs)
Series connectionNot specifiedYes (24V / 48V banks)Yes
Charge (coulombic) efficiency~99%~99%~95% max
Thermal behavior in testTerminals 109°F under loadBMS area warm, cells coolVoltage sag to 11.9V instantly
Warranty / supportLimited, responsive sellerStrong, swap-on-failureVaries by brand
Long-term costLow per kWh over lifeLow per kWh over lifeHigh — replace every few hundred cycles

Numbers in this table come straight from the source video's bench test. Cycle-life and efficiency figures are the reviewer's statements in the video and pinned comments, not our claims — worth verifying against a current datasheet before you buy, because prices and specs do move.

Which Battery Should You Buy?

Pulling it together from the test:

  1. Beginners, cold climates, or anyone who wants zero babysitting → premium LiFePO4. The built-in low-temperature protection, series support and warranty make it the "can't screw it up" choice the video recommends for first-timers.
  2. Budget builders on a tight bank budget → budget LiFePO4 with an external low-temp cutoff. The capacity is there — the test proved it — just respect the terminal heat and add your own freeze protection.
  3. Big low-draw solar banks already running lead-acid → you can keep it. The Peukert penalty mostly disappears at low C-rates, and lead-acid tolerates being stored full, which some users genuinely need.
  4. Small battery + heavy loads (inverter, heater, tools) → do not buy lead-acid. This test shows exactly why: nearly a third of the rated capacity simply disappears under load.

The one line from the video that sums it up: with solar gear, the more you spend up front, the cheaper it is over the long term. That's the same logic we apply when a customer asks us to quote a custom pack — we'd rather engineer a bank you keep for a decade than one you replace twice.

And if you're not hunting for a consumer brand but need the battery itself — a custom LiFePO4 pack at a specific voltage and capacity, an OEM or ODM project, or wholesale supply for your own power station line — that's what we do. Dajiu Energy is a Chinese manufacturer building LiFePO4 batteries for RVs, homes, golf carts and portable applications since 2017. Our product range covers LiFePO4 drop-in replacement batteries, EV and golf cart batteries, wall-mounted home storage, portable power stations, commercial energy storage and battery swap cabinets — explore the full lineup in our product center, or browse more buying guides. Tell us your voltage, capacity and size, and we'll engineer the pack to hit it.

Reviewed by Dajiu Energy Engineering Team — a Chinese LiFePO4 battery manufacturer building LiFePO4 batteries for RVs, homes, golf carts and portable applications since 2017, serving OEM/ODM projects with CE, UN38.3, MSDS and ISO9001 certified builds.

What Viewers Are Asking

The top comments on the source video are a mix of thanks and real questions. We kept the ones with actual substance — technical, battery-specific or experience-based — and answered each with facts from the test (or our own engineering take where the video didn't cover it).

@jenna6256 · 251 likes
"Warranty's are only good as long as the company is in business."
Our take: Exactly right, and it's the strongest argument for buying from an established manufacturer. A warranty is only worth what the company can honor — check how long the seller has been around, whether they actually respond to support emails, and what independent reviews say about swap-on-failure claims. That due diligence matters more than the warranty's length in years.
@LennyVasbinder · 43 likes
"I actually bought two of the Ruixu's for net $695 ea off of Amazon about a month ago and am VERY HAPPY now that I saw how well they did. Did you ever measure the temp of the terminals of the BB?"
Our take: The video measured 109°F on the budget battery's terminals under the 954W test — warm but not alarming for short bursts. Battle Born's larger terminals and thicker internal bus bars dissipate heat better, which is part of why that battery costs more. For sustained high loads, oversized terminals and torque-spec'd connections genuinely matter; a good crimped lug with proper torque keeps contact resistance (and heat) down on any battery.
@michaelcorbett6927 · 40 likes
"Walmart 24D deepcell Marine batteries $74.99. By far the best battery. Mine have been in full use 24/7 for 3 years with no problems. I got 8 of them for the price you paid for 1 of yours."
Our take: Fair play to a light, low-draw setup — if your load is small and steady, cheap flooded lead-acid works for years. The video's test applies to heavy draws from a single 100Ah battery; at low C-rates the Peukert penalty mostly disappears. The trade-off shows up when you need real power: 8 batteries take up 8 times the space and weight, and the replacement cycle is far shorter than LiFePO4's.
@nkos6376 · 36 likes
"The real quality test is the long term usage, more than 1000 charges and 2 or 3 years of daily use."
Our take: Agreed — a one-hour bench test proves capacity, but not longevity. The cells inside most LiFePO4 packs are rated for thousands of cycles, so what usually fails first is the BMS or internal wiring, which is exactly why the video stresses warranty and brand support. When you buy cheap, you're betting the un-seeable internals hold up; when you buy premium, you're paying for the assurance that they will.
@OlympischbriesjeNadaAverage · 24 likes
"730 USD is really cheap, even the case is like a mcDonald's case, no disrespect it's just cheap in a good way."
Our take: "Cheap in a good way" is actually a fair summary of the test results. The budget pack matched the premium unit's capacity at a lower price, and the thin-feeling case is where the cost saving shows. That's the honest trade: you accept a plasticky shell and unverified internals, and in exchange you get most of the performance for roughly two-thirds of the price.
@listenup1711 · 21 likes
"Have you ever tried the new carbon batteries? I'm curious how they work compared to these."
Our take: Lead-carbon (carbon/AGM hybrids) sit between lead-acid and lithium: they tolerate partial state of charge better and survive more cycles than standard AGM, but they still carry the Peukert penalty and the weight of lead. For a shallow-cycle solar bank they're a real middle option; for the heavy 954W-style loads in this test, lithium still wins on usable capacity per dollar.
@herb7877 · 19 likes
"Great video! I have 2 Costco 6v @ $98 ea in series. I do not use an inverter and do not discharge below 65%. Single 100w Renogy panel will keep them at 90+% as long as I have sun. They're 3+ years old and running fine. For me it's not cost effective regardless of longevity of Lithium."
Our take: This is textbook how to run lead-acid well: shallow discharge (65% floor), slow solar charging, low draw. That's exactly the regime where lead-acid is still viable. The caveat: staying above 65% means you're only using ~35% of the bank's rated capacity — the same usable-energy math the video makes with Peukert, just from the depth-of-discharge side. LiFePO4 earns its keep when you need deep cycles or higher draw.
@Down2RV · 18 likes
"Test two 6 volt agm wired for 12v VS a single 12v lithium."
Our take: That would be a great follow-up, because the math is instructive: two 6V AGMs in series give you the same 12V nominal bank but still carry lead-acid's Peukert loss and ~50% practical depth-of-discharge limit. At the same rated amp-hours, the lithium pack delivers more usable watt-hours under load and weighs roughly half — the video's single-battery results scale up directly to that matchup.
@gormanthomas8135 · 17 likes
"I am curious about the Dakota Lithium products. Any possibility of a comparison?"
Our take: Dakota Lithium is another premium brand — their 12V 100Ah packs carry a long warranty and a reputation similar to Battle Born's. The useful comparison would be price-per-usable-watt-hour and BMS features (low-temperature protection, series support) rather than raw capacity, since most premium packs land in the same performance band. Worth a side-by-side if you're choosing between premium brands.
@jaymercado715 · 14 likes
"What if I get 4 sealed lead acid vs 1 battleborn? 4 lead acid = $1000+ vs 1 battleborn = $950+."
Our take: At nearly the same money, the comparison stops being about price — it's about space, weight, efficiency and lifetime. One Battle Born delivers more usable capacity under load, charges at ~99% efficiency versus ~95%, weighs a fraction of four AGMs, and outlives them by several times. Unless you specifically need the chemistry that tolerates being stored fully charged, the lithium pack wins that matchup on nearly every axis.

All comment excerpts are quoted verbatim from the source video's top comments; the original creators did not reply to these threads, so every answer above is Dajiu Energy's own take.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is LiFePO4 really cheaper than lead acid over the long term?

Almost always yes, once you count usable capacity and cycle life instead of sticker price. This test shows a 100Ah lead-acid AGM delivering only 67Ah under a 954W load, and lead-acid lasts a few hundred cycles versus thousands for LiFePO4. A single LiFePO4 pack typically replaces two lead-acid batteries of the same rated size for heavy loads, while running at ~99% charge efficiency versus ~95% — over 5–10 years the lithium pack usually wins on total cost per usable kWh.

Can I charge a LiFePO4 battery in freezing weather?

You should not charge a LiFePO4 battery below about 0°C (32°F) unless the pack has built-in low-temperature protection — charging below freezing can permanently damage the cells. Premium drop-ins like Battle Born include the protection internally. For budget packs without it, add an external low-temperature cutoff (a temperature sensor feeding the charge controller) so the charger is disabled until the pack warms up.

Why did the lead-acid battery deliver less than its rated capacity in the test?

That's the Peukert effect: at high discharge rates, lead-acid loses a significant share of its rated capacity to internal resistance and heat. The 100Ah AGM in the video sagged to 11.9V the instant the 954W load hit and delivered only 782Wh (about 67Ah) before shutdown. The loss shrinks at low discharge rates — a big lead-acid bank trickled by solar suffers far less — but a small battery driving an inverter, heater or tools pays the full penalty.

Can I connect LiFePO4 batteries in series to make 24V or 48V?

Only if the manufacturer explicitly supports it. In the video, the Battle Born is rated for series connection while the budget LiFePO4's datasheet does not specify it — a red flag if you need a 24V or 48V bank. Series strings also require matching cell voltages and, ideally, a BMS with proper balancing; always check the datasheet and ask the manufacturer before wiring lithium packs in series.